Current opinions of Yamaha p37e and Suzuki pro37 v3

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    MARK Issadore
    Participant

Hi
    Most of the reviews that I read on the yamaha p37E were negative and most players favored the p37d model.
    I have had a p37d for years and just ordered a second one as the first one could use some tuning.
    I have been very happy with the p37D.
    It has a nice sweet sound and until now has held its tuning well after several years.
    Most players seem to favor the Suzuki m37c over the pro 37 v2.
    I would like to know if there is a more positive opinion about the v3 version,
    The pro is two and a half times the cost of the m37,$100 vs.$250
    The improvement in response and sound would have to be more than slight to justify the expense
    What are my Melodica Friends opinions?
    Thanks

Dave Anderson
    Participant

Hello, I have a similar question. I’m new to Melodicaworld and relatively new to Melodicas.

I have a Yamaha p37D and p37E. I like the D for playing with jazz with other people and the E for softer playing by myself. Frankly, I am very bothered by the poor tuning of both instruments out of the box. I was hesitant to jump into tuning myself, but I am becoming resigned to the fact that I will have to learn how to do this tedious chore.

So I am intrigued by the Suzuki Pro37v3. The ad says that this one is “precision tuned” and I’m thinking that for $280 on Amazon, it must be on another level in terms of tone, action, and tuning. Or is that wishful thinking? I think Jon Batiste plays one of these (definitely a Suzuki, but he has stickers on his so you can’t tell the exact model.)

Any experience with this one would be most appreciated. I’m thinking of returning my P37E and getting the Suzuki, but am still in research mode. Thank for your help. This looks like a great site and thanks for Daren for all the great resources.

André Sant’Anna
    Participant