Yamaha P37D vs P32D

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Marc
    Participant

Hello everyone!

I’m new here on the website and I want to learn, share and help so that I can become a great melodica player! I am a pianist and play the piano professionally so it’s easy for me to play the melodica.

I do not own a melodica but I’ve had the chance of trying a Hohner 26 keys student model and I was amazed by the melodica (not the model in particular but the instrument).
    So I’m planning to buy a new melodica. But where I live, I can only buy from the music store available (can’t buy from amazon or ebay… :/)
    So the thing is, I’ve done a lot of research and I can’t decide between the Yamaha pianicas P37D and P32D. At the store, the former is at 196 USD while the latter is at 106 USD. (Yeah they’re expensive here). Based on the colour, I’m finding the P37D more professional but the P32D is easiest to carry and less expensive.

So, which model do you think I should buy and why?

Thanks in advance!

Daren
    Keymaster

They should do an in-between size, a P34D, going from G to E. I think that would cover most situations. They could do it in a nice grown up colour as well!

Alan Brinton
    Participant

Suzuki has a 34 key model, of course, the A-34C, but I think Yamaha is a good choice. The melodica I play the most is the P-32D, so I’m an enthusiast for that model. I like its compactness and especially the ease with which it can be held (and balanced) in the left hand, as I don’t like using the handstrap, without which there’s greater flexibility in ways of holding the instrument. The P-32D is also somewhat easier to play for other reasons, and easier to learn on (even for a pianist).