How to mute the sound of my melodica?

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Didier
    Participant

hello , It’s my first post on this forum.
    As a beginner I wish to train myself on the evenings, unfortunately the children sleep… I wonder if there is device to mute the sound ( like a practice mute for the trumpet), or if you have an advice.
    Does exist a 100% electronic melodica?

Lowboy
    Participant

Hi Didler,

Welcome to the forum.

Interesting question. I have been thinking about ways to minimize the projected sound of my melodicas so that the audience in a small venue hears more of the sound coming out of my amp than the acoustic sound of the melodica. I want to do this because I process the sound through effects pedals and want the audience to hear–ideally–just the processed sound.

My ideas include: (1) partially surrounding myself with sound-adsorbing tiles or panels including a sound adsorbing rug, (2) using a clear plexiglass drum shield, (3) attaching some sound absorbing materials to my melodica, (4) using a microphone isolation shield, and (5) trying to get my amplified sound as loud as possible without feedback, so I can play softly.

The last two ideas will not help you as they are intended for performance. I have not tried to implement the first three ideas yet as I am still thinking about which direction could be best and least intrusive on a stage.

I can tell you, that if you buy a melodica with the sound holes on the back (there are only a couple of models like this in the world), you can hold the back of the melodica tightly against your chest, effectively muting it. It is a funny position to play in, but I do it fairly often. If you play softly in this position, the melodica volume is reduced substantially. Maybe if you had one of the melodicas, you could put tape or other materials over the holes.