Constructive Melodica Exercises?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Case
    Participant

Hey everyone. I was hoping to get some advice on practicing. I really like my melodica, usually carry it around in my oversized backpack with me. But, I’m a beginner musically. I can’t really whip it out and improvise anything yet.

I was wondering if anyone could suggest things to practice on it that are beneficial learning-wise, but also sound musical. IE, if I played around friends/girlfriend, they wouldn’t be TOO annoyed, or it actually might sound like something.

So, scales are one thing, but they absolutely sound like scales and become irritating, any modulation on scales that make them sound more musical? Things of that nature are what I’m hoping to find.

Any help would be awesome, Thanks!

prodz
    Participant

try to practice on piano (or synth keyboard) with both hand. melodica is easy instrument to play, but general knowledge on piano (or synth) is esential.

usualy melodica is an instrument that you play by ear, and for that you have to know how to use a keyboard without “thinking”.

practice, practice, practice, practice, practice…

P.S. welcome to melodicaworld!

Daren
    Keymaster

Hi Case

Welcome to the forum. In my experience, real practising, meaning benefical practise that actually makes you a better player, will never sound interesting to listen to. You should pick something simple and play it very slowly again and again, making sure to stay relaxed and fully focused. If you’re making mistakes, then slow it down even more, or break it into small sections.

Most of my practise is ‘silent’, playing the keys but not blowing. This is a great technique for really concentrating on what your hand is doing, and making sure that your fingers are moving efficiently.

This of course has the added benefit that you can practise anywhere without annoying anyone!

Melodica-Me
    Participant