Wood case and miking

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Gianluca Barbaro
    Participant

Hi all,
    I’m new to the forum and relatively new to the melodica. I’m a professional musician (whatever that means nowadays…), I play the recorder (mainly jazz and some early/trad music) and jazz piano, and I teach.
    I recently bought a Yamaha P-32D (thanks to the advices offered by this website) and I was very happy with it, but I needed some simple live amplification, so I decided to re-case the melodica to make some onboard room for mikes and preamp. I’ve used only recycled materials or stuff that I already had in my possession, like the preamp (taken from a MicroVox standard PSU http://www.microvox.co.uk/psu.htm). Here are some pics:

wooden melodica 01
    wooden melodica 02
    wooden melodica 03
    wooden melodica 04

Not visible, there are two electret capsules in the inside. In the last picture you can see how I tried to solve the condensation valve problem.

My first impressions, PROS:
    – The overall acoustical sound of the melodica is enhanced, although it is a little bit less loud
    – The amplification is well balanced (I guess thanks to the fact that the capsules are not too near the air vents)
    – The weight is acceptable the way I play (sitting and using some leg support)
    – The melodica is untouched in itself, so it can be instantly replaced by a new one or restored to its original plastic case.

CONS:
    – The aesthetics can be definitely improved :/
    – I still have to test if and how the internal condensation is affecting the wood
    – I need a new bag 😉

I have a question for those of you who already made a wooden casing: I used a chemical waterproofing liquid first and then a regular coating, but I have some health concerns about toxicity. What did you guys used to waterproof the internal?

thanks
    gl

Gianluca Barbaro
    Participant

Sorry, it’s a P-37D obviously 😉

Ricky
    Participant