Tenor Melodica

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    Auxane
    Participant

Hi !

I’m a french jazz pianist studying in the school of Didier Lockwood. I bought a melodica last year, the cheapest, and it looked as a toy! After some research, i discover that melodicas are a real instrument, if you buy the good one. I always have been confuse bye “high” sound of the melodica. Alto and soprano. But i discover that tenor melodicas was existing ! So i looked on the web to find one, and i looked hours, but i find nowhere to buy one ! I make this post to have information about tenor melodicas, a reference, a mark, anything to help me (us) to find TENOR MELODICAS !
    Auxane Cartigny

Quetscher
    Participant

Hello and welcome Auxane,

although Hammond doesn’t use this term you could call the Hammond 44 a tenor melodica (and the only existing tenor melodica in the world!) because of its range down to c. At the same time it’s an alto melodica reaching g3. And, best of all, it’s a highly professional instrument! Unluckily it’s not the cheapest but the most expensive of all, but according to the reviews in this site it should be worth it.

Greetings, Quetscher

Melodica-Me
    Participant

Welcome Auxane, great to have you. As Quetscher states the Hammond has the range you are looking for. The next step would be the Eolina but hard to find and yet 3 times the cost Of the Hammond. The Hammond is well worth the investment and I have not found a better all around melodion than the HP 44 and Hyper. (Personal preference). They really work well for jazz.
    Melodica-Me
    Monsters of Melodica

Alan Brinton
    Participant

In watching auctions for melodicas, for example on eBay, I occasionally see an alto melodica referred to as a tenor. The seller of a melodica on eBay often is a person who is not a musician and who is not knowledgeable about melodicas.