Yamaha Pianica P-32C

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Darryn Chiew
    Participant

Hi, I’m new to the Melodica/Pianica world. I haven’t been able to find much information on my Pianica online but I gather it is at least semi-vintage.

As I don’t have a lot of technical expertise, I’ll let the photos do the talking. I haven’t taken it apart yet and currently don’t have any plans to do so for fear of breaking it or not being able to reassemble it (learning from experience, hehe)

Top View

Back View

Model number

There is a crude “Made in Japan” sticker stuck to the body. A similar sticker is stuck on the case as well. I’m not sure if the sticker is supposed to be part of this pianica because it looks out of place.

Dee Cook
    Participant

Picked up a Yamaha Pianica P-32C at an estate sale a few months ago. I don’t own a D, so I’m also curious as to the history and differences in construction for the two models. There is a nice discussion comparing the A, B and D models, but no mention of the C. Anyone?

Alan Brinton
    Participant

Your photos are not showing, Darryn. “Vintage” is not well defined for melodicas. The term is often used here for any melodica that’s no longer in production. For the most part, I refer to melodicas from the 1980s and earlier as vintage. You refer to yours as a Pianica; it’s probably something we could date. If it’s a Yamaha, the “Made in Japan” (if authentic) would also help date it, since their Pianicas have been made in Indonesia for quite some time.