Where to get a Hammond 44 repaired in NYC area?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Binyomin
    Participant

Might you folks have an idea of where I can get a Hammond 44 repaired in the NYC area? One of the reeds on my HP has broken, and I need to have the instrument playable ASAP.

I should add that I’d seen Brooklyn Bellows mentioned — I believe here — a while back, but I left a voice mail several weeks ago, and emailed as well yesterday, and have had no response.

Thank you!

George Miklas
    Participant

I repair and replace reeds in Western PA. Quality work. Reasonable prices.

http://www.HarmonicaGallery.com/repair

Melodica-Me
    Participant

Hello George, what is your turn around time once it hits your door.
    Melodica-Me

George Miklas
    Participant

I currently have work waiting in my shop that will take 2-3 months to repair and send it back out the door.

I’m a full time teacher Monday thru Friday, tour bus driver Saturday and Sunday. This is the reason for the turnaround time.

But, I think that I might be the only shop in the USA that replaces reeds in Hammond Melodeons.

Melodica-Me
    Participant

Wow,that’s a long time. I don’t have a problem getting the Reed plates, those are available from the Japanese on line stores on rakutan global. I have bought them and have received them in about a week. Just looking for someone to tune them up as I do not have time to tune them myself as I would normally. I would not be able to Waite that long though. Thanks for the information George and welcome to the forum.
    Melodica-Me

George Miklas
    Participant

Yes it is. When my shop has gross receipts to replace my two jobs, then my turnaround will be much shorter.

Binyomin
    Participant

George, we’ve spoken in the past. You were recommended to me by Suzuki. Unfortunately, your turnaround time is simply too long.

Mel, do you have a link to where I could order replacement reeds?

Thanks!

George Miklas
    Participant