What kind of melodica is this ?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Martin
    Participant

Hello everyone, I’m new here. I’m a drummer and I’m heavily influenced by a band that uses a melodica. I would like to start playing melodica in my band too.
    Does anyone happen to know what model of melodica he is using in this video ? => https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LMUnC13LLwc (look between 3:45 and 3:55 for example)

Thank you !

Quetscher
    Participant

Hi Martin and welcome to the club!

The guy in the video plays a Suzuki Pro37 V2. According to the reviews it’s a melodica that isn’t loved by everyone, but Jon Batiste plays it nearly exclusively and seems to be very content with that instrument (you may have a look at the video section and watch his interview or listen to him playing).

Alan Brinton
    Participant

Suzuki Pro-37v2. I believe (and I know some others agree) that the Suzuki M-37C is better, even though it’s cheaper. The “high end” look of the Pro 37 is cosmetic and superficial, though it is in fact a nice looking melodica. In my opinion, again, the M-37C has a cleaner sound. My favorite among the Suzukis is the M-32C — you might find it easier to begin with a 32 key melodica. Also quite nice is the Suzuki A-34C. Note that it has an unusual range of keys for a melodica. I think all three of these other models are superior to the Pro-37, they are cheaper but have a real solid quality feel, comparable key action, and somewhat better sound than the Pro-37v2 (though this is of course somewhat subjective. The Yamaha Pianicas are also excellent. My opinions as a melodica hobbyist who has owned, taken apart, and tuned all the aforementioned. But check the Reviews section and look at reviewers’ profiles, to see what the professional musicians say.

Melodica World
    Keymaster

David replied: