Vintage Clavietta issue

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Maria T. Grieco
    Participant

I became intrigued by the clavietta after reading about it and hearing one on the site. Just this week I bought one on eBay that the seller described as, “La Clavietta in very nice shape with instructions and case- tested for functioning- works great-“. Well, maybe it did when it left the seller but when I received it 6 keys did not play. Also, it did not come with a mouthpiece so I have to blow on the metal. As I blew into it black bits came out from between keys. There was tiny black debris in the case also. It seems to be mostly dead black ants. After much blowing through with the spit valve open and blowing and brushing between the keys and keys not working that worked before and vise versa I am down to 4 keys that won’t play at the low end: G, A-flat, B-flat, B. Yes the A in the middle plays!

What’s going on? Can anyone advise me? I’m a novice and reluctant to open it. Also, is it possible to scrounge up a suitable mouthpiece or improvise on? The clavietta does sounds lovely.

The seller (rated 100%) is very upset and co-operative. He will accept a return, though that is a pain.

Anyone on this site live in the NYC area that can help?

Maria T. Grieco
    Participant

Hi! I have not heard from anyone yet. I really need advice/help from clavietta experts so I can decide what to do – Alan Brinton, Melodica-Me, Daren Banarsë? Please help!

Melodica-Me
    Participant

Hello Maria, let me review your question and I will get back with you tomorrow, And by the way, if you need a mouth piece for your Clavietta I can mail you one, I have extra.
    Thank you
    Melodica-Me

Maria T. Grieco
    Participant

Thank YOU, Melodica-Me! Wow, how do you have extra mouthpieces for a vintage instrument such as a clavietta?

Looking forward to your help.

Melodica-Me
    Participant