Tone, Range, Color

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Paul
    Participant

I’m very close to buying my first melodica.

I’ve played piano for over 40 years and am good enough at that to be a back-up pianist at my church when the organist is out. I played oboe from middle school through college. And I’ve been playing harmonica for the past 4 years or so.

I’ve looked over your “Buying a Melodica” guide as well as the individual reviews of the models listed there – and these were very helpful. I’ve viewed/listened to a variety of YouTube videos as well in my search for the best instrument for my needs.

Now, I’d just like some direct feedback.

I’m leaning toward a Suzuki because, with their harmonica-manufacturing reputation, I’m thinking they may have better reeds than the Yamahas. And it may be easier to obtain replacement reeds if I break one. Only while researching melodicas have I learned that Yamaha actually makes harmonicas. They just don’t have as strong a following in the harmonica world as Suzukis.

I would prefer the range of the Suzuki M37D or Yamaha P37D. That high F would be nice to have.

But I’ve seen the comments, especially by Alan Brinton, that the tone of the Suzuki M32D is better than the tone of its bigger brother.

The live tone is probably most important to me, but range is a factor! How big a sacrifice would I be making by adding those five extra notes? Or, conversely, how big a gain would I receive by losing five notes? From my experience with other instruments, I also know that tone is largely determined by the skill of the player. A bad player on a good harmonica will still sound like crap.

I don’t want a melodica with a tinny or brassy or honky sound. Would prefer a smooth sax or clarinet sound, if possible. If not, more of a harmonica tone than accordion.