The Complete Bach Cello Suites on Melodica

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Andrew Yoon
    Participant

Hey everyone! I’ve been lurking on these forums for a while, but this is my first time posting anything. I’m Andrew; I’ve been playing melodica since around 2018 and over the past couple years I’ve been getting increasingly obsessed with this quirky and beautiful instrument.

As a sort of technical challenge I’ve been learning to play the Bach cello suites, and recently I’ve gotten it sounding ok enough that I decided to record them! It’s a complete studio album (my first) set to come out on June 3, with accompanying video for the whole thing. A few movements are up for preview on Bandcamp now, and I’ve just put the whole first suite up on Youtube here! I’d love to hear any feedback you all have 🙂

Some preliminary shop talk: everything is played on a Hammond-Suzuki 44HPv2; of all the instruments I’ve tried this is by far the most capable. The open back and phosphor-bronze reeds give a very clear and hair-trigger-sensitive sound, and the extended range (to viola C) allows playing most cello music shifted up an octave. I play two-handed with the instrument on my lap, and use a cut up non-slip rug pad to keep the instrument in place. I circle breathe almost continuously through the music – which is not so difficult on melodica! – and I use a sort of open-mouth technique on note releases to allow the reeds to naturally decay. I had to come up with some more exotic techniques in later suites, like partial key presses to balance pedal tones, but I’ve been surprised to find how naturally playable most of the music is. I still struggle a lot with some of the instrument’s pitfalls though, most direly the low reeds which tend to choke and speak unpredictably (and I actually had a reed break on me during one of the recording sessions 💀). If anyone from Hammond is reading…I have notes…