Take Apart Suzuki M37C

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Shion Arita
    Participant

Hi everyone, first post on here!

I’ve been a musician for a very long time, (classically trained on french horn). I’ve just gotten into playing melodica, and I must say it’s a really nice instrument! My experience may be the opposite of many players in that I have a lot of experience with wind instruments but not much keyboard experience.

The instrument I have is a suzuki M37C, which I picked because I really like its tone quality. It seems like a great instrument but there is one problem:

The notes in the lower register (about the lowest 7 or 8) take a lot of air to make them sound and are very slow to engage even so. The upper register ones are a bit like that as well. I initially thought it was an inherent issue with the melodica in general (in my experience the main difficulty in learning to master any wind instrument is getting consistent response across its range), but I read on here that this kind of problem can be fixed by adjusting the reed gaps.

To test this without messing up the M37C I got an El Cheapo melodica to practice messing with the gaps. I found that decreasing the gaps across the board on that one made all the notes speak absolutely effortlessly, and at this time I prefer the El Cheapo to the M37C because it hasn’t gotten the treatment yet, but I plan to decrease its gaps as well.

I’ve heard some vague things about there being some weirdness with taking apart the suzuki M37C. Can someone who’s done it explain how to do it without messing anything up?

One strange thing is that on the instrument where I changed the gaps, I made them much smaller than most resources I’ve found say you should: the reeds are barely peeking above the slot. Contrary to what I’ve read, this doesn’t make the notes choke at all.