New member to melodicaworld

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Maria T. Grieco
    Participant

Hi! I am a pianist and music teacher (also singer and recorder player).I was curious about melodicas but always thought they were just teaching tools. In December 2013 I participated in the “Harmonaboard Parade” with Jon Batiste for Make Music NY Winter. Horner provided the first 25 people to sign up with a free melodica if you didn’t have one. I jumped at the chance. They gave us the Instructor 32 in its nice canvas case with the flex tube mouthpiece -but no short mouthpiece! Why? It’s annoying. I tried to see if I could get one but the only source I came up with (don’t remember what that was) quoted a ridiculously high price. Anyway, just weeks later I received an email from MMNY asking if any of us “Harmonaboard Parade” participants were interested in playing with Jon Batiste for guests waiting on line at Gracie Mansion for Mayor deBlasio’s open house. We’d have a group photo with the mayor, too. So, yes, I went. (We ended up getting individual photos with the mayor.) It was fun and musical. I then looked into getting a better melodica, something more professional, and found the melodicas.com website. I didn’t find myself encouraged to buy anything. I let the idea go. Recently I found myself searching once again online for melodicas, possibly inspired by seeing Jon Batiste on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, and I found Melodicaworld! Thank you! What a great site. After reading it for days I decided to get the Suzuki M37C. I searched around, ended up getting it on eBay. I also checked out vintage Hohners on eBay and bought a 1970’s Hohner Piano 32 made in Germany. Later on, after more reading I bought a Yamaha P25F on Amazon. I like its small size and cuteness. I was tempted by the Hammonds but, let’s face it, size, weight, and price(!) made it a cumbersome choice.