larger key melodicas

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Eric Siegel
    Participant

Hello, all: I am a pianist and got the hammond suzuki 44 note melodica with the pickup. I have had it for a few years, and I am still struggling with the size of the keys. So I am wondering is there a good melodica that I should consider with significantly larger (ie wider) keys? I can do with fewer notes if the size of the keys is more usable.

Thanks in advance

Alan Brinton
    Participant

The largest melodica keys I know of, Eric, are on vintage Hohner 36 key Melodicas, the Professional 36 (hard to find and usually very expensive) and the Piano 36, which is plentiful. If you look through recent posts by Lowboy Bootay, you’ll see that he has two of the Piano 36 for sale. He will sell at a reasonable price, and you can believe what he says about their condition. The keys are about the same in width but longer, about 4″ total, 3.75″ showing. It’s a noticeable difference.

Alan Brinton
    Participant

In what position do you usually play your melodica, Eric? If I lay mine on a flat surface and play it with the long tube, small keys are a big problem, but not when I think of it more as a wind instrument and hold it up to my mouth. Then both hands are coordinating to get into position on the keys. My background is on piano. Lately, I’m playing a little Suzuki Study II that has 2 and 5/8″ white keys and 1 and 5/8″ black keys. In some ways, it is easier to play. My right hand is in position to cover almost the whole keyboard. I couldn’t play this one at all laid flat. And when it’s laid flat, the melodica can’t be rotated to suit the hand, so the hand has to be in awkward postures. Just some thoughts.

Eric Siegel
    Participant