Improving responsiveness of certain keys

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    Benjamin
    Participant

Hi all,

I have a Yamaha P32D, and it plays well except for 2 keys (F4 and F#4) which take a large amount of effort to play.
    The reeds do not sound with normal blowing and when they do sound, it’s very loud and throws the whole song out of whack…

I have opened the melodica and found the relevant reeds to have rather large gaps, reduced the gaps slightly but the problem still persists.

Please share your advice on how I can remedy the issue, as I am new to reed instruments.

Rodrigo
    Participant

Hi Benjamin, I have the same melodic that you and I had the same problem. What I did to fix it was to reduce the opening of the reeds leaving a little space, but not completely close. Doing this responsiveness Reeds improve much. I fit so all reeds a Yamaha P32D a P25F and Angel AM37K2. Hopefully my advice will be useful. Sorry about my english, i am a Chilean guy. Greetings.

Benjamin
    Participant

Hi Rodrigo, thanks for the advice, I will try reducing the gap and report back here.
    Do you only do it for the affected reeds? Or will doing it for each reed improve the instrument as a whole?

Rodrigo
    Participant

Hi Benjamin.
    You have two options to adjust:
    – Identify the canes that have poor response sounding instrument and require adjustment before opening and adjust these reeds.
    – With open instrument visually identify which of the rods have a larger opening at all and make these adjustments.
    I recommend the first option.
    Also remember that it must be a minimum opening in the reeds you are setting, if you close it too much will have a similar response when the cane is very open.
    In the example image, the reeds that your settings should look like the smallest cane image.
    Good luck!
    Example

Benjamin
    Participant

HAHA! It worked, thanks man.

Rodrigo
    Participant