Hohner Pro 36

Tagged: 

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Zoran Terzic
    Participant

Hi there, I am new to Mworld.
    Primarily a Jazz pianist, I recently discovered my old Pro 36.
    Here is a sample tune with the Pro36 to give you an idea: https://soundcloud.com/zoran-terzi/pampy

Anyway I run out of air too quickly when playing (compared to say the new Yamaha),
    in other words, I ve got a leaking problem. In my ears the Pro 36 sounds best (even tried the Hammonds etc.), so I try to repair it.

I ve been messing around with the instrument since, but cannot significantly improve the air leak.
    I assume it s the key pads with their leather surface that are leaking.

The reason I assume that is that I sealed the first “chamber” i.e. the space above the reeds with tape to make it airtight, and when blowing heavily certain tones are being played without me pressing any key.

If you have useful tips how to handle leaking, I d appreciate it.
    Does it make sense to send it to Hohner or repair service? (I live in Germany)

Just to give you an impression, here some pics — I should add that back in the days I had attached a kind of sound enhancement element (wood), this is the black part – it sounds soooo much nicer, and good for stage)

Alan Brinton
    Participant

Hello Zoran,

Since nobody has yet responded to your inquiry, I will by saying that the Melodica World expert on the Professional 36 is Melodica-Me. He owns several as well as related models and has worked on them successfully. He definitely knows what he’s doing. Melodica-Me may be tired of repeating what he has said about the kind of issue you’re having and the advice that he has given to some of us. I have a leaky one I started to work on, but I got frustrated and then was able to acquire another that is in good playing condition. However, it is still hard for me to play, as this model takes a lot of air even if not leaky.