Does anyone play the melodica for reasons other than the sound?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Kevin
    Participant

Does anyone play the melodica for reasons other than the sound?
    I for one am not a great fan of the free reed sound. In particular the accordion or concertina. I don’t care for the melodica models that sound accordion like or some of the two-handed techniques that sound accordion-ish.

Why do I play the melodica then?

I’m old enough to remember when the small portable electronic keyboards were not around. It was handy to have a small keyboard that didn’t require batteries or be a piece of furniture.
    Also the expression!!! the ability to combine those breath-flow techniques combined with keyboard precision is wonderful!
    Just curious about the rest of you and your attraction to the instrument?

Melodica-Me
    Participant
    David Colpitts
    Participant

I am new to the instrument, and am interested mainly because it offers the free-reed sound with the full chromaticity of the piano keyboard. All my other instruments are diatonic, and this will open other keys to me. However, I am obsessed with the Janko conversions I have done; I will try to find a way to send sound links for all to hear, once I have another month or so under my belt.

David

Daren
    Keymaster

I was drawn to the melodica for a few reasons. I trained as a classical pianist before working as a composer, and dreamed of playing a wind instrument, where you could swell notes and play with expression. I also wanted to play an instrument I could travel with, put in my pocket and take anywhere.