3D Printed Mouthpieces

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Gh0stC0de
    Participant

I am not a huge fan of the feel of the mouthpieces on my two melodicas, a Suzuki Student 32 and a Yamaha P32d. However, I am an avid 3D modeler and printer, so I have decided to print my own.

I am a beginner to melodica, I picked it up a few years ago and then proceeded to start a new job and move to a new home that needed repair, so my hobby time has been little until recently. Do any more experienced players have ideas as to what would make an ideal mouthpiece for comfort and playing angle?

Marcia C.
    Participant

I love this idea. We have a 3D printer. If you create code for it, please post a link here.

What I would like for a melodica is a hard mouthpiece that is long enough so I can hold it level and see the keyboard when I play. And also that I could stand up and play it. I have a Yamaha.

Alan Brinton
    Participant

There has been a fair amount of discussion here about mouthpiece preferences, GhOstCOde, and some also about creation of 3D mouthpieces. Search the forums for “3d print” and “mouthpiece” and you should be able to dig it up.

Preferences among members are all over the map. I guess everyone agrees that a mouthpiece should be smooth and feel comfortable in the mouth or against the lips. And most will also agree that we need more options. This is especially true with the Yamahas. Suzuki has offered the most options, but they don’t fit other popular brands, Yamaha in particular.

I personally like short, minimalistic mouthpieces such as the Suzuki MP-142. Another favorite of mine is the melodica-end fitting from a Suzuki tube.

Some nicely crafted new options would be very popular, though it’s probably not a get-rich propositions. I hope you will pursue this vigorously!

Melodica-Me
    Participant